Member Area Login

If this is the first time you are logging into the new ASA website, please select Get a new password below to be sent a link to set your password to enter the new system

Get a new password

About the ASA

Pru Pratten Memorial Lifetime Achievement Award

2021 Pru Pratten Memorial Lifetime Achievement Award nominations close 10 March

We can confirm the awards will be going ahead this year however, due to the unpredictability of the COVID situation, the ASA will not be hosting them as a face-to-face Awards Breakfast or a Gala Dinner at the ASA2021 Brisbane Conference. Current venue social distancing restrictions would result in functions that would not do the awards justice.

Therefore the Pru Pratten Memorial Lifetime Achievement Award, along with the Awards of Excellence recipients and the induction of Fellows will now be announced at an ASA Awards Evening, on Saturday 29 May, 6.00–7.00 PM which will be on our virtual platform. Delegates attending face to face in Brisbane will be invited to a cocktail style function and the awards ceremony will be livestreamed for all delegates who register for the virtual option of the ASA2021 Brisbane Conference.

To ensure all award recipients and inductees receive the recognition they deserve we will be encouraging those who are not in attendance at Brisbane to host watch parties with their colleagues as well as their family and friends. Further details will be coming soon with information about how delegates can win ASA hampers for this event. 

Pru Pratten Memorial Lifetime Achievement Award

This Lifetime Achievement Award recognises a member's significant contributions to the profession and the ASA over their entire career.


To be eligible for nomination

  • The nominee must be a financial and continuous member of the ASA for a minimum of 15 years
  • Nominees cannot have previously received the ASA Sonographer of the Year, Pru Pratten Memorial Award
  • Current sitting ASA Board members and ASA staff are not eligible for nomination.

Nominees may also be put forward for the Awards of Excellence in the same year, however separate applications will need to be submitted.


The nomination criteria includes three categories:

Service to the ASA – includes presenting at ASA events, writing for the Sonography journal and being active on ASA committees / branches
Mentoring and training – includes being actively involved in the training of others to more formal positions of Clinical Supervisors or educators
Service to humanity and innovation – includes research, volunteering to outreach communities or the creation of new ways of educating and training sonographers.

You can find the detailed criteria here.

In 2019, the prestigious Pru Pratten Memorial Award was renamed to The Pru Pratten Memorial Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition of a member's significant contributions to the profession and the ASA over their entire career.

2019         Louise Worley
2018         Anita Bowman
2017         Ilona Lavender and Michelle Pedretti
2016         Kerry Thoirs
2015         Cain Brockley
2014         Jessie Childs
2013         Ann Quinton
2012         Vanessa Pincham
2011         Susan Campbell Westerway
2010         Bonita Anderson
2009         Margaret Condon
2008         Faye Temple
2007         Robyn Tantau
2006         Jane Keating
2005         Shaun O’Regan
2004         Val Gregory
2003         Pru Pratten
2002         Stephen Bird
2001         Jenny Parkes
2000         Marilyn Zelesco
1999         Peter Coombs
1998         Roger Gent
1997         Margo Harkness

Other items of interest
Our platinum partners
Canon Medical
GE Healthcare
Siemens Healthineers

Sponsored advertising - want to advertise? Click here