Member Area Login

If this is the first time you are logging into the new ASA website, please select Get a new password below to be sent a link to set your password to enter the new system

About the ASA

Pru Pratten Memorial Lifetime Achievement Award

Awarded to Greg Lammers, 2021 

The ASA is thrilled to announce that the winner of the 2021 Pru Pratten Memorial Lifetime Achievement Award is Greg Lammers. Greg is not only an asset to those in our profession, but he is an asset to health care professionals, nationally and internationally, who benefit from his expert knowledge, skills and abilities. A huge congratulations to Greg on this incredible achievement.

This Lifetime Achievement Award recognises a member's significant contributions to the profession and the ASA over their entire career. Greg has been recognised for his achievements, dedication and contribution to the sonography profession for over 30 years. Greg has had a long history with the ASA, not only is he being recognised for his years of service to branch committees, special interest groups and program committees, Greg is also a Fellow and a previous ASA President.

His dedication to sharing his knowledge with sonographers puts him at the top of our list for this recognition. He has published numerous papers on sonography, as well as delivering over 130 presentations to sonographers and health care professionals. Greg has been a mentor to many sonographers as well as training the next generation. He has held several positions as a Lead Sonographer, Tutor, University Lecturer and DMU Examiner. At one stage overseeing 15 students and 50 qualified sonographers.

Greg has been a strong advocate for the profession and regularly presents at local, state, national and international meetings. In 2014, Greg volunteered his time to travel to Myanmar to train doctors in the use of ultrasound in local villages.

The ASA is proud to present Greg with this prestigious Award. Thank you for your continued service to the ASA, your peers and your profession.


To be eligible for nomination

  • The nominee must be a financial and continuous member of the ASA for a minimum of 15 years
  • Nominees cannot have previously received the ASA Sonographer of the Year, Pru Pratten Memorial Award
  • Current sitting ASA Board members and ASA staff are not eligible for nomination.

Nominees may also be put forward for the Awards of Excellence in the same year, however separate applications will need to be submitted.


The nomination criteria includes three categories:

Service to the ASA – includes presenting at ASA events, writing for the Sonography journal and being active on ASA committees / branches
Mentoring and training – includes being actively involved in the training of others to more formal positions of Clinical Supervisors or educators
Service to humanity and innovation – includes research, volunteering to outreach communities or the creation of new ways of educating and training sonographers.

You can find the detailed criteria here.

Stay tuned for nominations opening for the 2022 Pru Pratten Memorial Lifetime Achievement Award.

In 2019, the prestigious Pru Pratten Memorial Award was renamed to The Pru Pratten Memorial Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition of a member's significant contributions to the profession and the ASA over their entire career.

2021         Greg Lammers
2019         Louise Worley
2018         Anita Bowman
2017         Ilona Lavender and Michelle Pedretti
2016         Kerry Thoirs
2015         Cain Brockley
2014         Jessie Childs
2013         Ann Quinton
2012         Vanessa Pincham
2011         Susan Campbell Westerway
2010         Bonita Anderson
2009         Margaret Condon
2008         Faye Temple
2007         Robyn Tantau
2006         Jane Keating
2005         Shaun O’Regan
2004         Val Gregory
2003         Pru Pratten
2002         Stephen Bird
2001         Jenny Parkes
2000         Marilyn Zelesco
1999         Peter Coombs
1998         Roger Gent
1997         Margo Harkness

Other items of interest
Our platinum partners
Canon Medical
GE Healthcare
Siemens Healthineers

Sponsored advertising - want to advertise? Click here